Sam Sarah (2010)

I’ve lost what made us relevant.

A force to reckon with,
they once called us-
strength of spirit
under unturned stones.

From the gray of Earth’s mires
(absent from light’s berth),
out to mountains

closest to the hell fires-

(include all the mines
and meadows
that lay between)

Then, to them,
to us,
to me,
you and I were worthy.

But ordained cleric of the lore
arson’s ancestors
have worn,

I’ve lost passage to the heavens,
the purity of penance.

Meanwhile,
the world around me’s
burning.

Leave a Reply

