I Wasn’t Ready to Love You (2015)

Baby blue eyes of
a creature not
five.

No footsteps
worth their
future
play looser with
balance.

Fly away,
little calendar killer,
little
Alice in her
wonder years.

Mine disappeared
so
long ago,
and the rest fell away
in droves.

Didn’t
obligate the thought

so self-

centred as I
was to
pretend
they were
old friends and
I would never be rid of
them.

They would
eat all the food,
steal Mom’s booze;
crash on couches,
sometimes speak
rudely.

But no, they
weren’t going away.

But then
one day,
this old house fell
on deaf ears, the
neighbourhood aloof.

Visitors
were fewer and the
times crept up sooner,

tomfools a hurry of
the past.

And those baby
blue eyes of
a creature in
my image,

whose very first
mission was to
win my heart
without vision
or speech or
rhapsody;

my centre of gravity,
absently humming
alphabets out
of
chronological
order.

7 thoughts on “I Wasn’t Ready to Love You (2015)

Leave a Reply

