Twenty-Nine ‘Til I Die (2015)

I was born and they called me
their Future. Under
bright lights,
I became a
consumer of
praise,
savvy in its enterprise of
assuming I’d
inherit
mediations
but
never malaise.

I grew up in
a group and
they named
us millennials,
perennial
underdogs
only built to
last a centennial.

Raised on
the interwebs
with
plebs and
the puritans,
schooled in bed by
the soul mates
who deserted them;

romanced by ruin,
ergo ruined
for
right
side
up
versions
of
love’s greatest
verses.

This ain’t your
parents’
kind of
poem
but nor will
your children’s
be.

I designed it
to be
twenty-nine
until it
dies,

a clusterfuck
always
just days
short of
thirty.

One thought on “Twenty-Nine ‘Til I Die (2015)

Leave a Reply

