Castles Across the Sea (2014)

Most rudimentary
instincts have left me like
a plane I was too late to board .

The seat I had
sworn to be on,
both knees deformed after
twelve hour flights, arrived
empty in the night.

And I haven’t forgotten closed
terminal doors any
sooner than you’ve
let go of meeting
emptiness in a swarm.

In agoras of regret, I’m
betrothed to retrospect, married before
summer gardens of blood red roses,
semi-fatal doses of
self-respect,

but yet,

I haven’t strength until I step off
that runway on some
runaway Sunday I decided was time
to settle star-
crossed debts.  

And we’d eat and
we’d travel, scratch our
names in castle
stones across
the sea;

this time not
for fairy tales but to let the world know
we died free.

And then,
maybe then, the most
basic will to survive may
return
to me.

One thought on “Castles Across the Sea (2014)

Leave a Reply

