You'll Know by Her Smile

Free Verse ReVolution

I’ve tried to
say this but it’s
apparent I’ve
said it badly,
that I’m
madly,
almost mathematically
infatuated

with
your patent
combination of happy
and wry;

hopeful,
apprehensive and
high on
the wrong side
of day.

You and I are
the same,
bittersweet like
aspartame.

Yeah, I’d
watch the years collide
beside you, until the sky
had burned out every
element of
surprise, and
the spines of living have
all but given out.

With you through
the ungodly hours and the
moments that will
forever empower
her,

(my
flower
of words)

you’ll
know by her
smile
it won’t be
as long a while before
she tries it again.

View original post

6 thoughts on “You'll Know by Her Smile

Leave a Reply

