Night Shift

Free Verse ReVolution

Woke up at 8 a.m. this morning,

suddenly
bored
of nightmares.

It’s been
a long time since I started
sleeping through
the day,

every bone of
my being
defied
by
my eyes,
too scared to
stay awake.

Radios are
my prophets, and the motions
of
highways
without horizons
make me nauseous.

In my
subconscious it’s
always
raining,
guardian
angels abstaining,

but dammit, this is
my journey,

and I’ll
drive by ten hitch
hikers
before I pick one
up.

He’s travelling
cross country to ask
his only
love to
marry him,

would I
ferry him to her, the only
girl in
the world
who matters at
this
moment in time?

He carries
his promise to her in his palm.

He’s tall,

taller than anyone
who should
fit in
a passenger
seat.

But I was
young once,
believed in
someone who could
smooth out
my rough
edges,

cure
me of deftness, so…

View original post 62 more words

Leave a Reply

