Spade a Spade

You showered me with sun
when I endeavoured
the rain,

made me
participate when I
really should have
abstained;
but darling,
there’s no
abstinence living in
a cage.

The illusion
of a choice were the bars
on
this charade,

now I’m hitting every one
of them since you
could never
soundproof
unpleasant
truths,
just window
dress any trace of them,
but let us call the
spade a spade.

You’re a
changeling of
haunted conscience,
unilateral populace of my
darkest
thoughts.

I let you fall to
the floor where you will
surely rot,
same as I will five feet
above you,
since warmth rises,

even in
a metal box.

2 thoughts on “Spade a Spade

Leave a Reply

