It Might Take Some Time

It might take some time, but I want to swear I’ll love you.

That you’ll see,
under your

endless frustrations,
double agents of drama,

my tendency to talk before a comma can console you,
smooth things over like the marijuana used to,

it could be good.

It might take a fortnight but
I think forever’s closer, not before she disrobes

but definitely  once her absence is
known at night.

It could be a while yet,
but I’ll know you were right in

ways I’d wished
you’d been wrong,

hauling on cigarettes, writing
to forget why I still to do.

It may take decades or longer to
pursue but

I promise you’ll be
immortalised on paper as you are

in my mind.

 

One thought on “It Might Take Some Time

Leave a Reply

