It's the Sad Songs That Make Me Happiest

Free Verse ReVolution

Were you the
smile behind requiems,
I’d be your laughter in
the lament.

I’ll be your happiness
in hardship, as
I’m a commoner barring
your good sense.

You’re my Walkman on repeat
one, a good book I’d
gun through if I hadn’t read it ten
times before;

you’re my couplet rhyme to
a complicated time,
a lyrical sign of life when
silence is the norm.

I’ll be your hunger after midnight,
lone flower post-November,
headlights on the back roads,
solidarity with a liquid center,

the youth in your eyes ’til the
end of our lives,
swoon in your voice because
after all these years,

yours is the song
I’ll be humming forever.

View original post

One thought on “It's the Sad Songs That Make Me Happiest

Leave a Reply

