Little Christmas

Free Verse ReVolution

Mistletoe above a phone
that hardly
rings,

near a door that’s never
knocked.

Garlands
emerald and amethyst
I use to twist up for their
colour alone
tie
themselves in
knots to get my attention
now.

I’ve watched the wonder
unwound
and the
ground be snowed over. I
only have to
wait for
the inevitable thaw.

Angel near
a chimney I used to be
fond of without fires,
and the carols
of choirs
I could hear from my
lawn,

either relics now or
magically
regressive.

And so it
falls to me to
find a festive light,
a little
Christmas we can
swipe like
champagne for ourselves,

while the
world around us gets
drunk on their
disappointments.

You are
my poignant
hallelujah,
a fuchsia light in
evergreens.

The phone doesn’t need ring,
the door’s
best left undisturbed
because I can think of
far worse
places to
awake than

our
little Christmas.

View original post

One thought on “Little Christmas

Leave a Reply

