Poe Little

Poe Little joined a cult of self-correction,
another undesirable in search
of more than
delinquency.
He made his living
selling leaflets,
one million little reasons to
repent.

“I’ve spent my life without a mother to make me mind my tongue, a father to admire and a brother to love. I’ve wandered and wondered and when God couldn’t remember my name, well I
guess I was
able to say
the same,
and we weren’t a family much longer.

I believed in something that
made me stronger, but was perceived as weak,
and now I merely speak in platitudes.”

Poe Little,
always a minimalist, can’t describe his first
kiss, for all descriptions’re archaic,
outlawed,
abrasive.

No magic in amazement, rendering blank stares.

Boy was a bookworm but we haven’t heard
stories like that
in ages,
and he’s scared
of heroes erased from their aegis,

trying not to
offend
the ravens in his repertoire of
thoughts.

One thought on “Poe Little

Leave a Reply

