metaforth

press on,
quipped the stars.

stay put,
pleaded dusk,
there’s little that way but
the husks of another day.

sleep, said
the night,

surrender to your
sweet exhaustion.

hello, cooed
first light, I’ve been
waiting to help
fight your
darkness.

my heat beats down
heartlessly
but I’m louder than
your screams into
outer space,

so much
my voice
warms your face.

be strong, advised
the afternoon
for nightfall will
soon overtake

the minute hands,
and you will stand alone.

And the clocks move so slow
in younger hours,
but I will
return tomorrow with
a chance of showers;

a metaphor
of the power

I’ve lent you to
shine into the
midnights.

Leave a Reply

