faultline art ( I dreamed a Celtic dream)

I dreamed a Celtic dream,
velvet sunsets
on the breaths
of mountains.

I dreamed of you and I,
when monologues became
cumbersome
and counted.

Nicks in the nightmare I
long compared to fair play,
for without pain there ain’t gain,
but why colour linoleum red
when it’s the
heart itself that
needs to
change?

Why give
up fluidity to become a fault
line,
its only
sense of compromise in
violent quakes?

We’ve lived so long
on rising stakes,
I dreamed a Celtic dream threatening
REM,

the end of us
versus them.

I dreamed a Celtic dream that said
it was time to stop
chasing a
phoenix,
capitalising on the dead.

I awoke today a
mountain to contend with.

Leave a Reply

