summer of reign

I hold your body and it turns to dust,
ash across my elbows.

I look for you where
rivers froze and all
I’ve got are cadavers of ice,
cold waves where warm
currents should reach
apex.

I look for a soul not so self-serving,
smiling one moment, a turncoat the next.

I read your horoscope
as if it’s not a hoax
because you always saw the best in stars.

But I believe this
is where
we part
ways,
in this summer of
reigning lovers
rebuked.

Offered you June and I’m drenched like
it’s April, untameable squalls.
But I was always
January,
contrary to your
August afternoons.

I’m starting to face my truths; the
rain against my
windows is
not stopping
any time
soon.

One thought on “summer of reign

Leave a Reply

