Fahrenheit

My heroine’s
addiction,

like caked needles
and all their dirty fictions emptied
on the
hardwood,
come back to
haunt us
like a school yard high.

Should I twist one for
the road,
because I’m not coming
home
to find you
seizing.

I’m seconds from that
feeling
I never want
to live without, when the clock
and couch stop
intertwining like some

drug-laced divine.

Jesus
god damn
Christ,

either our
timing’s
sacrilege

(had me so convinced)

or I’m
hallucinating
this,

a bait and
switch of
colours wrapped like
rainbows round
my lover.

Maybe that’s why I still
sense summer
in the
seaweed of
your
eyes

when it’s all frozen
over three
weeks into
October.

She’s slipped well
past the
solstice now,
into long winter
Fahrenheit
resigns.

One thought on “Fahrenheit

Leave a Reply

