Hashtag Poetry

I’d give up all consent,

just call deep-held
doubts collect,

settle them
in the homes of
area codes they
spent
formative
years
rejecting;

I’d part ways with
blessing and
debt
equally,

favour both
blood-let
and beauty for
as long
as feasible
for one
congenially awful
poem

so long as
my awe eclipsed
its faults.

I’d not
chalk another limerick, or at
least make
it contingent on
a concrete
quality,
had I felt
something
volley me
from
hell
to the
heavens,

or even
read a rhyme
of reverence for
iambic
assault.

Like
messages in
a bottle from
the heart to
my feet,

it should
be cynical yet
its sweetness the
pinnacle,

a beautiful
defeatist on the run
from coming
within
reach of an
astounding success.

3 thoughts on “Hashtag Poetry

Leave a Reply

