Hiatus

Effective immediately, I will be taking a sabbatical from this site.

There is no lone reason for this decision, but several. I won’t pin it on the waning viewership which, despite the drastic downturn in recent months, informs me I continue to write for myself and none other. Neither will I blame it on other factors. A year ago, I sought to end it at the height of its popularity, and perhaps returning to WordPress was my mistake, as the project has never fully recovered from that decision.

There are personal reasons too. I feel a bitterness has crept over me from time to time, but I was always able to keep it in check through writing. The sad truth is, writing is no longer sufficient enough to stem the tide of darkness and cynicism.

It has been amazing sharing my poetry with you these last three and a half years, and I owe my readers more than this short letter can repay. Unlike my original departure, I have no plans to post elsewhere or creating any work to be made public for the foreseeable future. In lieu of that, I will finish linking the appendices over the next week, and from there this site will remain intact to thrive or disappear, or whatever time decides to do with it.

With all my heart, I hope for the former, but even if sits collecting dust, I will always know there remains a piece of me here.

Thank you for all your support, and Godspeed.
Retkon Poet

30 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. I only pushed Like because I wanted you to know I read your posts. When I do get on WordPress, I seek your postings. I shall miss you. Your voice is needed. Be well and find your peace. I do hope you return.

    Like

  2. I too will miss your posts. You are one of the few writers whose words appear to be chosen, with care. What ever your future holds, I hope it includes happiness, success and peace. And please, do not stop writing!

    Like

  3. Do what you have to do, my friend. I have enjoyed reading your words and I am just one of many others who will miss your posts. Sometimes a break is good, however long it will be. Whatever happens, I send my best wishes that you find what it is you are looking for, that you remain true to yourself, and walk your path with intention. Godspeed to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. well I get more likes than actual reads – about 3-1. I think many people just skim due to time etc. and the new format leaves much to be desired for poets. Anyway best of luck, keep writing, and remember sometimes talking to yourself is more rewarding than talking to a crowd looking down at their cell phone or taking selfies. Nobody gives a rat’s arse today – that’s pretty obvious…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh certainly. I did not mean to implicate the audience at all. You guys have been great all along. I have felt (mostly) that I am not meeting the standards I once did, but also that I am not getting the satisfaction I once did as well.

      Thank you for your support regardless.

      Like

      1. well I’ve left 3 times now and deleted everything before I left but a few token posts. I reached the point I just don’t care what people think – maybe you just need to walk away for awhile and say F-it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. For what it’s worth, I had just recently discovered your work and was really enjoying it. While I am new to blogging, I can certainly appreciate your need to detach however, I wanted you to know I will miss your posts. Best of luck to you.

    Like

  6. I just recently started blogging here. But in the short time I’ve been following you, I have really enjoyed your work. It’s a shame about the hiatus, but I do hope that you find whatever it is that you’re searching for. I hope that you do return. Take care. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for letting us know before you go. I’ve actually been thinking that your works were getting better and better of late. You’re the only poet I follow, and one of two free-form poets I enjoy. (I usually prefer poetry with some sort of form.) Seeing your creations and the response to them has encouraged me to create and share some of my own free-form. Thank you for your art, and for the heart it was woven from.

    I pray you come to peace which passes all understanding–and maybe even joy and love–down whatever road you walk, however harrowing the road, and through whatever sorrow and suffering might walk with you.

    Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It does, and I feel that perhaps I put too much emphasis on viewership in my post. My goal with this blog has been achieved so many times over, and while I may return in a different form someday, the number of views is peanuts at the end of the day. Thank you so much.

    Like

  9. I am a new follower and really enjoy your writing.
    A space to replenish, yes, a hope for your return, yes. Poet lovers are patient.
    All the best.

    Like

  10. Wow! Really now? I’m really going to miss your works. You actually inspired me to shift my writing form as well as try out other themes. All the best though, and may you find that which you search for. Bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

