Godhunters

I’m hunting a monster
but to them

I’m a
monster
and hypocrite
myself
and to me

every man is a
contract,
every kill some
obscured
moral;

personifications of
a quarrel
neither
side can win,

but only
one side will live
to see the sunrise,

each’s harmony
crucified by
the other’s antichrist.

But if apologies
sufficed and we could
rewind the ideologies, dig out
some redeemable
qualities;

if each side kept its
sovereignties,
if clashes were the
anomaly and not
the rule,

I’d be a fool not
to retire
and watch the fires of
this world put out
naturally.

Yeah I’m hunting
the beast in
my peers because
the wolf in
my fears say

those who stop
biting back
are the ones who
get eaten.

The deity
of my birth would
see me defeated,
but it’s the
clerics and parakeets who
treated themselves to
crafting His laws,

inescapable sets
of jaws

meant to keep
these weapons be-
coming secular, a
gospel of my own
words I secure before

the hunt will
begin.

I’m hunting the gods
tonight, because they’ve
gotten much too

used to winning.

One thought on “Godhunters

Leave a Reply

