Guardians

My guardian angels
find me too
painful to guard.

They’re
easily alarmed so I let
them fly above,

shoulder rubbing
scavengers and
cursing the
hereafters I’m
their charge.

Two narcissist
immortals fell from
a portal fashioned
from my empty
heart.

Rejects of uncharted
paradise
long spoiled by
ideals;

like children
reared in a
fantasy to
soundtracks of
a broken family.

Are
supernatural
beings
expected to
recognize they’re
not real?

If God saw
amnesty for
them here,
clear of
afterlife politics and the
self-serving pricks whom govern it
like jilted lovers,

then God is
a sucker because they
ain’t guarding something worth
his pride.

I watch them
circle above,
making off-the-cuff
comments about the
longevity of
my odds,

torn between
wishing them well and shooting
them both down
myself,

thankful
they haven’t walked off the job.

2 thoughts on “Guardians

Leave a Reply

