Persevere

Oh thank the
gods and all I have
got to breathe;

carbon dioxides of an ostracized air I didn’t think I’d need.

Oh, thank the
odds and political lightning
rods I ain’t
the banker who took this
economy and tanked her.

Nope, I’m a
canker for
your conscience,
an anchor for my love;
architect of quaint
words,
theoretically absurd,
unheard in all the
ways I never thought
enough.

And it’s been one
rough ride, but the
blood has since
dried, and I’ll be spouting off
at the mouth until my
final metaphors
subside.

2 thoughts on “Persevere

Leave a Reply

