A Story of Stars

I’ve never
yearned to depart my own
fields of gravity- vacuum seems an
unnecessary malady to
inflict upon
oneself;

travelling through
lone asteroid
belts past
red dwarfs killing
entire solar
systems for sport hardly
has me torn between two
vocations.

But should I ever leave
Earth’s shores someday
for distant galaxies
exponential
lifetimes away;

to colonize their poor
influence wars in your
floral name,
and stage
supernovas whose
radiation will never wane,

I hope you’d afford me a
proper goodbye, watching
cylinders in
the sky disappear from
naked sight,

and never
forget I went in peace.

Farewell, my
friend, I whisper;
until we meet
again, you mouth;

sun rises in
the hills behind you,
orange light warms your
optimisms; that this
mission can
save you, and I’ll be
back to
spirit you away to
some city of stars.

Even though we know that fate is
not in the cards,
I’ll always carry your
place in the
universe with
me.

6 thoughts on “A Story of Stars

  1. “Even though we know that fate is
    not in the cards,
    I’ll always carry your
    place in the
    universe with
    me.”

    Really enjoyed this last stanza. Very beautiful and heart felt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

