When It Reigns

Oh love,

isn’t the
sum of
moving parts weaker than
whole-hearted attempts
at redemption?

Aren’t lush
and healthy metaphors worth
more than
my fragmented
verses which

thrash as they
worsen?

Just swear it to me;

that you’ll remember the person and not
the sickness, the
times we laughed a bit
longer than ensuing
bitterness,

exchanges
in warmth between
militant sets of subzero temperatures.

Remember me
as you saw, not
what you heard.

Count me your friend
as I counted on your
courage for
its gentle
cursive
courting my
candlelit sorrow.

I’m sure
tomorrow I
would have the resolve
to stay,
but tonight

it reigns,

and I’ve run out of
sunrise to borrow.

6 thoughts on “When It Reigns

Leave a Reply

