THE KILLING WAGE releases 07/29 [UPDATE]

When I first announced my third anthology earlier this year, I did not anticipate The Killing Wage. In trying to write my own poetic autobiography, I should have known setting a release date was too ambitious. So in its stead, I resolved to write a mini-anthology to bridge my second and third books. And in doing so, I ended up writing my most politically-charged work yet.

As a cross between manifesto and warning tale, it addresses the widening gap between the rich and poor, boomerang kids with crushing student debt and few job prospects, as well as fallout from the 2008 recession. It explores greed and avarice from a birds’ eye view, and I could not be more proud of the result.

These twelve poems could have very easily been lost in the hundreds already on the site. On their own, I hope they will stand out far more. And the best part? It is 100% free. As of July 29th, you will be able to download it directly from Upside Out Publishing’s site. Physical copies will be available for $5.50 (to cover the printing and distribution costs) for a limited time.

The point was originally to offer the book free as a gesture of thanks for all the support, but over time, it came to include a secondary motivation: what’s the point of pointing out greed if you only stand to profit from it?

I hope TKW will at least engage and inspire some discussion,

Look forward to your thoughts.

One thought on “THE KILLING WAGE releases 07/29 [UPDATE]

Leave a Reply

