Poor as Poets

Tell me your price, and I’ll build
you their
miniature versions;

LEGO homes and
fireplace love poems because the
furnace has been
broken since
Christmas.

Tell me what the rest of my life
with you is
worth and should
I lack materials
to build it, the means to give our
children the benefit of a doubt,

the flowers of our
garden some ground to
grow upon;

I’ll spend my
life’s remainder fucking up
death and certain danger to

right all the wrongs
of your
leather chequebook.

Isn’t that worth the
second look
although you know I’m as

poor as poets
who write
off asset seizures
as the cost of being
true believers in something

other than
being crooks?

Even love expects
down payments and balanced books.

5 thoughts on “Poor as Poets

  1. I am in awe of your poetry – poor as poets being representative of the plight of all poets who resist being drawn and quartered by the four pillars of daily life. Thanks for following gwensworld — I too am Canadian (Fredericton, NB) – or – having lived the majority of my life in the States -maintain my Canadian citizenship & passport. Best to you

    Like

Leave a Reply

