An Addict's Prayer

Don’t try to
save me, darling, it’s
a fool’s errand.

My mother tried
two decades of it to
be driven
towards
perpetual impairment.

I’m a miscarriage
of justice in my
morality’s own

jurisdiction,

piss drunk and asleep on
your tile kitchen floor.

Don’t try to
save me baby, just
let me snore.

I’m tired of
living

holding forks to the outlets
and I know you’re
sick of being my conduit.

So don’t try
to save me,
you shrew-

this is my
fuck you to
the world.

Come tomorrow I won’t
matter anymore.

9 thoughts on “An Addict's Prayer

Leave a Reply

