613

I grew up in this city,
so I know exactly
what process means.

Slower than the 417
at rush hour,
arterial roads all
around the
halls of power.

I know the outer towns,
their roundabouts,
Lincoln Heights and
the downtown core;

how the poor infest
its more
antiquated depths.

I know the
suburbs and
the clubs,

what it means to
fall in love in
places nothing
ever happens,

knowing it will end with
us lighting books of matches to ignite
some sense of passion,

then watch the whole
thing go up in flames.

I know how to politicize old pain,
create situations I can’t contain,
get from west
to east in
optimal time,

but Lord
help me should you
dispatch me north-

it could be days before
I arrive.

3 thoughts on “613

  1. Haha! So painfully true. I used to live in Aylmer (I know – it’s west) but we’d drive north and then west because it was faster, believe it or not, than going across the Champlain Bridge.

    Like

    1. I used to go across the river to QC all the time when I was 18 and not legal in ON, but have been there much since. 🙂

      Like

  2. “I know the
    suburbs and
    the clubs,

    what it means to
    fall in love in
    places nothing
    ever happens,”

    That’s awesome. I really like that. ~ Bill

    Like

Leave a Reply

