Last Retcon Ever

The last word is
always least convenient.

Do you end on a verb or the
more
intermediate
noun?

Does this
stressed syllable mesh with
the ones eluding
spoken duress?

Will this stand
the test of time, red
wine, my future self’s
eventual disdain
for rhyme?

Let me
respond in kind-

should I ever find it doesn’t,
I’ll exercise good judgement,
and retcon it from
this space completely,

replace it with
pretty scenery.

Placeholder of sorts
until I can
retort with
some less meandering
abortion, abhorrent
disfigurement of
creative
rites.

It’s not
always pretty, but leaving
the building has its
own set
of lights.

Until we meet
again,

thank
you and

good night.

2 thoughts on “Last Retcon Ever

  1. “do you end on a verb
    or the more intermediate noun”

    I went from thinking “I know exactly what he means” to “Now I’m not sure what he means.” All poetry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

