Juliet Eternal

The stage is censored
by its
curtains.

Pantomimes perform
in pitch
black rooms
on purpose.

We’ve furnished
our sets with
so
much untruth, you’re
the runaway
prop
I’d hate to see
excluded.

Life outside this
travelling carnival has
become more carnal
than
instinctive
expressions when
you were

directed
to blink,
never to think for
yourself,
told to
lie in my arms
talking about your
hopes and
dreams with

a thousand
sets of
socialite
eyes watching.

Monologues were
your calling, beauty
beheld by
monocles
faltering in
the presence
of inaudible tears

of star-crossed
lovers caught like

a pair of
deer in

the headlights
of resentment
and fear.

Well, now
my dear, you get to decide
who looks down the
plastic handgun

and learn to
love them for whom
your fathers
despise.

6 thoughts on “Juliet Eternal

  1. I have a question and please do not take offense. Are you what they call a gangstalker? Keywords: stage, sets, traveling carnival, a thousand
    sets of socialite eyes watching, star-crossed lovers caught like a pair of
    deer in the headlights of resentment and fear…

    Just a question, but if it is true that you are, will you confess? The signs are there.

    Like

    1. LOL. to whoever wrote that comment. I just had to look up what “gang stalking” was…. I feel like this poem could borderline be considered along those lines? But I mean… if one did even partake in such an activity I doubt that anyone would admit it….

      Like

    2. I also had to look it up….the term is unfamiliar to me, and I’m still quite puzzled over whether and how my poem gave that impression. If you are basing this idea on the poem alone, then I can see it….maybe? However, if the assumption is based on my work as a whole, then I would say no, frankly. I am not a gang stalker.

      Like

Leave a Reply

