Dear Skylar (2014 Version)

Dearest angel, my
lighthearted
muse;

a long time
ago, I promised
you I’d never make
commitments
if there was
the slightest chance

that they
would fall through.

It’s too early yet
to tell
if you’ll reject
my choices; but

there was no
impulsive coin flip, no
schizophrenic
voices telling me
your mother and I had
only a
matter of time before
our personal poisons,

(long used
to point at everything
but ourselves)

spilled over
onto
you.

I don’t regret it,
or second-
guess leaving
our wreckage to
build
a better ship,

nor do I
resent the crash
that forced
us to
wash ashore.

No one in
the world loves you
more than
her,

and I’m
a narrow
second.

There’s
absolutely
nothing here
to mourn.

You
only live once, and
I hope you’re
never stuck with
anyone

you find
incompatible, that
you never become anything
less than
independent or

masterful at
your craft.

I wouldn’t dare to ask you
to be anyone
you aren’t, and hope, that
someday,

you can
reciprocate that
sentiment,

’cause, kid,
you are
my heart.

One thought on “Dear Skylar (2014 Version)

Leave a Reply

