Hello, Euphoria

It was city lights that
came to define
my opinion
of night,

self-righteous
mechanical
suns in pairs perched higher
than I ever dared
to climb.

Knowing my
penchant for
getting lost, they
agreed to guide me far as
civilization would build them.

And you’d know
their gilded sights
after
staving off
your dying brights.

Hello euphoria,

I spent many days
driving
Boreal backroads that
oppose auroral
bite.

Always on the
wrong side
of normal,

I’m so happy to see
your smiling whites.

5 thoughts on “Hello, Euphoria

  1. This has a great opening stanza! It amused and intrigued me, and I read it over a couple of times before reading more! Of course, the rest of the poem was just as enchanting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

