Don't Leave Me Yet

Ten seconds.

That’s all I need to pretend my whole
existence isn’t collapsing upon itself
like a dying star.

And it’s hard,
seeing that
suitcase in your hand, several
goodbyes on the tips
of our tongues but
none of them are
close to adequate.

It’s cold like
the draft when you look
back that final time,
fucking chills down
the spine;
the high pitched whine
of a door
left ajar so freezing
winds that rush
inside can

rest on
this terrible moment’s
laurels
an eternity.

For ten simple
seconds, return to me,
darling,
help me
forget I’m in this empty
room’s debt.

Ten simple
seconds is all I ask.

Please
don’t
leave me yet.

13 thoughts on “Don't Leave Me Yet

  1. Reblogged this on the Writer's Blog and commented:
    This poem, I want to share….Nicholas Gagnier is so talented, his words are profound and truly and utterly captivating. He captures the reader with his words, the imagery alive and staggering.

    Like

  2. This is one of my favorite poems. I love the imagery and the personification, the way you convey those feelings from N while gazing at the receding figure of their beloved. You tell it so beautifully, and yet so simply. The words are so simple and discreet and yet their meaning is so grand. I will always love this poem. Really. You make me want to better my own writing.

    Marie

    Like

Leave a Reply

