Sick as Dogs

Delirious as
run-on sentences, my thoughts are
a runaway train.

Like
pocket change, the periods that
once broke this
mind trip into
tolerable legs now
ricochet between
quarters and dimes,

trading blows
with dollars for
cents in return.

And I forgot
the words to
construct
the lies that keep you
awake by
my bedside.

Draw
the blinds, since daylight’s
fabric truncates
my sleep.

The sheets are soaked,
this fever cloaks me
like a fog.

Sick as dogs,
watching as each strain
fights for supremacy,
with increasing
brevity as to
whom remains
the victor.

It’s as if a
boa constrictor’s wrapped
itself around
my heart
and squeezed.

One thought on “Sick as Dogs

  1. like it so much! I am not sure if you are talking about a broken romance or this horrific flu that is going around. I know I felt like a boa had me around the chest! Very fine writing as always.

    Like

Leave a Reply

