You and Yours

Writing thank
you cards was
always too hard.

What
words
would
I say and
what words would
you discard?

We’re two
worlds apart,

and reconciliation’s the
farthest thing from
flesh and bones.

Instead, it’s
just an
unknown with
the ability to breathe, sucking all
the air from
this arid room.

But I owe you
thanks for all
the years,
all the
blood,
sweat,
anger,
tears,

for conquering
my formerly
daunting fears.

Because now
I’m afraid
of
nothing,

least of
all
everything
I stood
to lose.

This Christmas
season, dear, I know
your glue
has come
undone,

and from
the bottom of
my heart,

from my
family to you
and yours,

I’ve said
to hell
with you.

I don’t need this
anymore.

5 thoughts on “You and Yours

Leave a Reply

