Comeuppance

The watch towers fall-

one less eye in the sky is
one more blind spot when natural
disasters are assigned-

we’ve lost
the appetite for
drones flying over
our homes being killed off in
mid-flight.

I awoke this
morning to a burning
husk on my lawn- metaphorical
metals as black as
my mother’s old
kettle.

All the life
around it absconded, fled a
post-traumatic
consciousness.

I looked back at the clouds but they
wished
to remain
anonymous
in volatile
affairs.

I know it won’t be the last time a
military weapon lands
in someone’s garden, but hope at
least
that now

God and I are square.

One thought on “Comeuppance

Leave a Reply

