Ugly [Ground Zero]

Words
played behind my
back
like piano keys
don’t make it a song.

Add
some punctuation
to your plagiarist gossip
and maybe you’ll see
how toxic
this particular
concoction is.

Honey, why don’t
you hang onto the
day job?

Hey I’m just
being
honest.

I’ve heard your
private sololiquies
and you’re
no
Billy Shakespeare.

I can destroy you with
a single turn
of phrase
faster than the
look on your
face
will change
regurgitating it.

If I’m the ugly
one,
darling,
I’d just
love
to
watch you
fade into
irrelevance.

And it’s
not a wish borne
of
malevolence,
I’d just pay
for front-row
seats to
the
revelation.

But I’ve
nothing if
I don’t have
the
aspiration
to let
you realize
you’re
mistaken before
all those wasted years
are
legitimized.

2 thoughts on “Ugly [Ground Zero]

Leave a Reply

