Rose in the Dark [Re-Post]

You are my
rose in a
windowless room. The
harder it gets to
see, the
wider you
bloom.

I am
a spider who
found comfort
under
you.

Raised
in the crack of
white beneath
a closet
door,

allergic to
lights but you
have risked
your life
to prove you dis-
like darkness
more.

I’ve been
seeking a similar
warmth, but I’m
still
enamored with
safe corners
where
scorched
web policies
monopolize my
movements,

like it’s
some drastic
improvement over being
swept to my death by a
swatter or
broomsticks.

I’ll grow old in
the blink of
an eye, then
who will stay behind
to build
a life of
cordoned cobwebs, a
silken promise spun to
cherish and
deliver us?

As my rose in the
dark withers, what will
I become?

8 thoughts on “Rose in the Dark [Re-Post]

Leave a Reply

