Playing God

The stories I found most
discouraging were
the lies I was
furnishing with
the truth.

Uncouth designs,

pull the
blinds darling,
the sun reminds me too

much of
wasted
youth.

She said, take all
your fictions, all their
unfathomable conflicts
and chalk it
up to something
sturdier than me.

I’m sick of
how articulately
all your prophecies
perpendicularly
align.

You can’t humanize
playing
God if

by
default

your logic’s never been
flawed or clouded,
every decision is
sound enough
to justify
itself.

“I’m just one
mortal”, went her
heartfelt
apology for the
failing qualities I
wrote her.

“What’s to
save me from
your inner quarrels or
being a casualty?”

And therein lies
my fallacy.

It was
choral guilt in a
hazel gaze that

gave away
the
answer.

6 thoughts on “Playing God

Leave a Reply

