My Reincarnate

We pass from one life to the
next, like a chess champion in
search of
his historic checkmate,
but for eleventh hour assaults
that decimate what
we’ve become;

just pawns in some
one else’s
strategy.

To my
reincarnate, you are more than
the sum of your
parts, torn into quarters that
ache but lie
dormant-

you will need
all four to
reassemble yourself
someday.

Moral compass took a thankless job-
bringing out the best in
being robbed of
everything, house up
in flames, listening to
the floor boards
break
under
black
smoke’s weight.

This is the
property you inherited, reincarnate;
the world as you stare at its departed
beauty.

It’s up to you
to take this desert and make
it rain, if only where you stand.

It is your
honour and sworn
duty.

How soon can you begin?

9 thoughts on “My Reincarnate

  1. I LOVE. YOU.

    Your poetry is so powerful. Your images and messages, is very incredible. You make me wanna really, really be a lot better than what I am. Good job.

    Like

  2. Thank you for this wonderful verse. It appears to be so on topic of what we are mainly discussing on my blog. I hope you don’t mind, I re-blogged it to mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

