Black Sheep Bible

Black sheep, black
sheep, have you
self
destructive wool?

Oh
word, oh yes
sir,

I never
seem to
fully learn

I’m obligated to
observe the
innocence of
iron curtains falling, memorize the
Southern drawl of their opening acts, every
hand ax unsheathed,
any peace accord pushed
back;

I would otherwise be
fighting- wouldn’t I have the perfect
timing, riding in to save morale?- but I’m
in Hell, trying to
quell my
hopelessness living
among rats.

They bring me food twice
a day, crayons and a Bible so I can
circle my sins in black
and red but they never
give me blue; I can barely chew
the bread and the water smells
like cleaning
fluid.

One dying lightbulb limits the time I have
to become insolvent, or find some
kind of promise in
pitch fucking
black, to disappear between
the cracks of
concrete
patchwork, or adapt faster than
darkness can
inhale me.

Before technology finally
fails me, my crayon scrawls a
monster over Maccabees; hulking,
cursive beast so when
they find
my final
form-

when they
come looking for the
black sheep, they’ll understand my

abhorrent
misdeeds weren’t born as wool but
matted under straitjackets; over
time, I grew
fine with the fact I’d never
appear repentant
again.

They’re so
lucky they only ever

saw
me dead.

5 thoughts on “Black Sheep Bible

  1. the entire thing was great but this got me:

    “when they
    come looking for the
    black sheep, they’ll understand my

    abhorrent
    misdeeds weren’t born as wool but
    matted under straitjackets”

    excellence

    Like

Leave a Reply

