Dungeon Crawler

Deep in my psyche,
a tricycle fights these
urges to
remove
unnecessary wheels.

Let me fall and be
broken,
independence in
motion,

an incapacitated
zeal.

Allow me the sorrow,
the palettes rage
borrows,

I want to paint
this whole
town
in
red
ink,
succinctly guide all other
ballpoint
colours
to their corresponding exits.

A passionate affair with the
anarchy of
unnumbered pages
has not affected
my
judgement,
nor has twenty hours a day
locked inside
this
dungeon.

My English is as flawed as
your uncompromising laws,
a pox on our home
solemn knock on your chrome-plated
doors that I hear
dripping in the pipes like
rainwater-

every distant
neighbour is
cannon fodder for my
revenge fantasy, every dog
barking down
my basement cell
window only adds to
acrimony

and
the stack of
rain-soaked letters
freedom wrote me from
a beach.

I’m sure if I opened them, they’d
say the sweetest things.

 

9 thoughts on “Dungeon Crawler

  1. “and
    the stack of
    rain-soaked letters
    freedom wrote me from
    a beach.

    I’m sure if I opened them, they’d
    say the sweetest things.”

    That imagery right there is just so fucking awesome!

    Like

  2. SHEER POETIC BRILLIANCE!!!!

    powerful imagery throughout
    and this being my favourite passage of all:

    “A passionate affair with the
    anarchy of
    unnumbered pages
    has not affected
    my
    judgement,
    nor has twenty hours a day
    locked inside
    this
    dungeon.”

    Thanks for sharing,
    ~CLIFF

    Like

  3. Can’t imagine a more fitting haunting score than this

    “My English is as flawed as
    your uncompromising laws,
    a pox on our home
    solemn knock on your chrome-plated
    doors that I hear
    dripping in the pipes like
    rainwater-”

    Feeling claustrophobic just reading!
    Wow an amazing piece. Thank you so much sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

