The Man You Want to Marry

It’s not every day I give you
advice in this
medium.

The tedium of lectures,
worry,
conjecture
turned my stomach as a
kid so

I’m hesitant to
live through
it again
but I love
you enough
to say…

Be the man you want to
marry, self-reliant,
strong enough
to carry
weight
the world
demands of you.

Never let anyone
ever tell
you
you’re
worthless or what
can’t be done,
including
me.

Remember your
limits but always be
daring.

Sweetheart, sometimes
you will
have to lose but
bruises
never kept
my girl down
for long.

Even after I’m
gone,
my last breaths
long drawn to
exhausted
horizons,

Have
faith in
yourself, and no matter
what kind of hands you
are dealt

it’s harder to
kill a
lion than
a lamb.

So be the man you want
to marry,
give a damn how
your story
concludes.

Never let someone
else live your life for
you.

10 thoughts on “The Man You Want to Marry

  1. “So be the man you want
    to marry,
    give a damn how
    your story
    concludes.

    Never let someone
    else live your life for
    you.”

    Such wise words!

    I wish someone had told me that before I had lost years of my life!

    Great advice!

    Like

  2. Thank you for this. It brought tears to my eyes, and I long know better. Perhaps because I do long know better. But these are words I would wish from my father, words I know he would say to me, even now, of he only could.

    So thank you. Just thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

